News Category

UPDATE: NLIHC announces its 2019 Housing Leadership Awards honorees

U.S. Representative Emanuel Cleaver (D-MO); Emma “Pinky” Clifford, executive director of the Oglala Sioux Tribe Partnership for Housing and NLIHC board member; and Dr. Mitchell Katz, president and CEO of NYC Health + Hospitals. These exceptional leaders will be recognized at the 37th Annual Housing Leadership Awards Reception on Thursday, March 28, 2019 at the Washington Court Hotel in Washington, DC.  Learn more and contribute in honor of these leaders today!

Rep. Emanuel Cleaver
Emma "Pinky" Clifford
Dr. Mitchell Katz

The first award is named for Senator Brooke (R-MA), who championed low income housing as a U.S. senator and later as chair of the NLIHC board of directors. Representative Cleaver will receive the 2019 Edward W. Brooke Housing Leadership Award for his years of leadership in Congress, unwavering commitment to addressing the needs of the lowest income people in the U.S., and steadfast support for federal affordable housing and homelessness programs. 

The Dolbeare Lifetime Service Award, named for NLIHC’s founder Cushing Niles Dolbeare, who has been called the “godmother” of the affordable housing movement, will be bestowed to Emma “Pinky” Clifford for her many years of leadership and dedication on behalf of Native Americans and her tireless work to secure decent, safe, and affordable homes for the lowest income people living on Pine Ridge reservation.     

The Sheila Crowley Housing Justice Award is named after former NLIHC President and CEO Sheila Crowley, who led NLIHC for more than 17 years. Dr. Mitchell Katz will receive the Crowley Award for elevating public and policy-maker awareness about the connections between health, housing, and homelessness and for implementing bold solutions to meet the need for affordable housing for the lowest income people.

Join NLIHC in recognizing these outstanding individuals by making a donation to NLIHC in their honor!  There are three ways to make a contribution: