Celebrate the Housing Justice Network, Joy Johnson, Rep. Maxine Waters, and Sen. Sherrod Brown, NLIHC’s 2021 Housing Leadership Award Honorees

Join NLIHC in celebrating the 2021 Housing Leadership Awards honorees: the Housing Justice Network of the National Housing Law Project; Joy Johnson, long-time resident leader of the Charlottesville Public Housing Association of Residents (PHAR) and former NLIHC board member; Representative Maxine Waters (D-CA), chair of the House Financial Services Committee; and Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH), chair of the Senate Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs Committee. These exceptional leaders will be recognized at NLIHC’s 39th Annual Housing Leadership Awards Celebration held virtually on Wednesday April 28. Donate to NLIHC in these leaders’ honor as an individual or as an organization.

The National Housing Law Project’s Housing Justice Network will receive the Sheila Crowley Housing Justice Award for the Network’s outstanding efforts for over forty years serving on the front lines to advance housing rights and over past year to keep families safely housed during the pandemic. This award is named after former NLIHC President and CEO Sheila Crowley, who led NLIHC for more than 17 years. 

Housing Justice

The Dolbeare Lifetime Service Award, named for NLIHC’s founder Cushing Niles Dolbeare, a pioneer of the affordable housing movement, will be awarded to Joy Johnson for serving her community and the nation for decades as a public housing advocate, organizer, and activist-leader, improving the lives of low-income residents in Charlottesville and across the United States.     

Joy Johnson

Joy Johnson

A 2021 Edward W. Brooke Housing Leadership Award will be presented to Representative Maxine Waters for her indispensable leadership fighting for equity and justice, combatting racism, championing the housing needs of the lowest-income people, and achieving critical housing and homelessness resources and protections during the 2020 pandemic. This award is named for Senator Edward Brooke (R-MA), who championed low-income housing as a U.S. senator and later as chair of the NLIHC board of directors. 


Rep. Maxine Waters

Senator Sherrod Brown will receive a 2021 Edward W. Brooke Housing Leadership Award for his many years of fighting for racial and social justice, voting rights, and affordable housing, and for his exceptional leadership in Congress to address to the housing and homelessness crisis during the 2020 coronavirus pandemic. 


Sen. Sherrod Brown

Recognize these outstanding leaders by making a donation to NLIHC in their honor! 

Donate as an individual at: https://bit.ly/2Kd9oRZ

Donate as an organization at: https://bit.ly/2LpBbzv

Or text LEADERSHIP to 41444 to donate in honor of the awardees.

Your donation will be recognized in the Leadership Awards Celebration program. The contribution will support NLIHC’s mission to achieve socially just public policy to ensure the lowest-income people have decent, affordable homes. 

Registration to attend the Housing Leadership Awards Celebration will be forthcoming.