Celebrate Jennifer Ho from Minnesota Housing at March 26 Housing Leadership Awards Reception

Join NLIHC in celebrating 2020 Housing Leadership Award Honoree Jennifer Leimaile Ho, who will be recognized at the 38th Annual Housing Leadership Awards Reception on March 26 at the Washington Court Hotel in Washington, DC. The other honorees are Bill Faith and Shauna Sorrells. Register to attend the reception and/or make a contribution as an organization or individual in their honor.

The Sheila Crowley Housing Justice Award, named after the former NLIHC president and CEO who led the Coalition for 17 years, will be bestowed to Jennifer Ho, commissioner of Minnesota Housing and former senior advisor at HUD and deputy director of the U.S. Interagency Council on Homelessness (USICH).

Jenniffer ho

Jennifer Ho

Jennifer has worked to end housing poverty and homelessness since 1999. As executive director of Hearth Connection, a Minnesota non-profit, she managed a nationally recognized demonstration project on supportive housing and long-term homelessness for single adults, youth, and families in two counties and oversaw its replication in 34 additional counties in partnership with the Fond du Lac, Bois Fort, and Grand Portage Tribal Bands. Jennifer served as a senior policy advisor for housing and services at HUD in the Obama administration and as deputy director at USICH, shepherding the creation of “Opening Doors,” the nation’s first-ever comprehensive federal plan to prevent and end homelessness. She worked with First Lady Michelle Obama to launch the “Mayors Challenge to End Veteran Homelessness” that reduced the number of veterans experiencing homelessness on any night by nearly half. Jennifer has served on the boards of directors for West Side Community Health Services in St. Paul, the Corporation for Supportive Housing, and the Melville Charitable Trust. As commissioner of Minnesota Housing, Jennifer is leading statewide efforts to provide access to safe, decent and affordable housing and to build stronger communities.

The second award is named for Senator Edward Brooke (R-MA), who championed low-income housing as a U.S. senator and later as chair of the NLIHC board of directors. Shauna Sorrells will receive the 2020 Edward W. Brooke Housing Leadership Award posthumously for her unwavering commitment to ending homelessness and housing poverty in the U.S. over many years at HUD, at the Housing Opportunities Commission of Montgomery County, and on the executive committee of the NLIHC Board of Directors. 


Shauna Sorrells

The third honoree is Bill Faith, executive director of the Coalition on Homelessness and Housing in Ohio (COHHIO) since 1994, who will be bestowed with the 2020 Cushing Dolbeare Award, named after NLIHC’s founder and an early affordable housing pioneer. In addition to leading COHHIO, Bill served on the NLIHC board of directors in various forms for 26 years and was the board chair for six years.

bill faith

Bill Faith

Come celebrate the contributions of Jennifer, Shauna, and Bill at the 2020 Housing Leadership Reception on March 26 at the Washington Court Hotel in Washington DC! Register for the event at: https://bit.ly/362lyDf (Note: A separate ticked from the NLIHC Housing Policy Forum is required for the Leadership Awards Reception.)

Recognize these outstanding individuals by making a donation to NLIHC in their honor! 

Donate as an individual at: https://bit.ly/34ng1FP

Donate as an organization at: https://bit.ly/2WyFnOb

Your donation will be recognized in the Leadership Awards Reception program. The contribution will support NLIHC’s mission to achieve socially just public policy to ensure the lowest-income people have decent, affordable homes. 

The 2020 Leadership Awards Reception will be held on the second evening of NLIHC’s 2020 Housing Policy Forum: Ending Homelessness & Housing Poverty taking place March 25-27, 2020. Register for the Forum at: https://bit.ly/2PutSGn and/or Leadership Awards Reception at: https://bit.ly/362lyDf