Celebrate Shauna Sorrells, 2020 Housing Leadership Award Honoree, on August 26!

Join a live-stream celebration of 2020 Housing Leadership Award honoree Shauna Sorrells, former chief operating officer at Housing Opportunities Commission of Montgomery County, official at HUD, and NLIHC executive committee board memberShauna will be honored posthumously with the Edward Brooke Leadership Award at NLIHC’s 38th Annual Housing Leadership Awards Celebration being live-streamed on August 26 at 4-5 pm ET. This year’s other honorees are Bill Faith and Jennifer Ho. Attendance is free to the public. Register today at: https://bit.ly/NLIHCAwards2020


Shauna Sorrells

Shauna receives the award named for Senator Edward Brooke (R-MA), who championed low-income housing as a U.S. senator and later as chair of the NLIHC board of directors. Shauna committed her professional life to public and affordable housing, striving to improve the lives of low-income people, particularly children. In 2002, she began working at HUD and quickly rose to the position of director of the Office of Public Housing Programs. Shauna received several HUD Departmental recognitions, including four Secretarial Awards from Secretaries Jackson, Preston, and Donovan, as well as an Assistant Secretary's Distinguished Service Award. More recently, as the COO of Housing Opportunities Commission of Montgomery County, Shauna led efforts to address homelessness and housing poverty in Maryland. In addition to serving on the executive committee of the NLIHC board of directors, she served on the board of directors of NAHRO and Homes for America. “Shauna was extraordinary, a brilliant, bright light,” wrote NLIHC President and CEO Diane Yentel about her friend and colleague. “She was a remarkably active and effective housing advocate and practitioner.”

NLIHC will bestow the Sheila Crowley Housing Justice Award, named after the former NLIHC president and CEO who led the Coalition for 17 years, to Jennifer Leimaile Ho, commissioner of Minnesota Housing and former senior advisor at HUD and deputy director of the U.S. Interagency Council on Homelessness (USICH). Jennifer will be awarded the Crowley award for her outstanding leadership on addressing homelessness and housing poverty in numerous capacities in Minnesota and nationwide since 1999.

Jenn ho

Jennifer Ho

The Dolbeare Lifetime Service Award will be bestowed to Bill Faith, executive director of the Coalition on Homelessness and Housing in Ohio and former NLIHC board member and chair, for his many years of leadership, dedication and tireless work to secure decent, safe, and affordable homes for the lowest-income people in Ohio and across the U.S. The award is named for NLIHC’s founder Cushing Niles Dolbeare, a pioneer of the of the affordable housing movement. 

Bill faith

Bill Faith

Recognize these outstanding individuals by making a donation to NLIHC in their honor! 

Donate as an individual at: https://bit.ly/34ng1FP

Donate as an organization at: https://bit.ly/2WyFnOb

Your donation will be recognized in the Leadership Awards program. The contribution will support NLIHC’s mission to achieve socially just public policy to ensure the lowest-income people have decent, accessible, and affordable homes. 

Register for the event at: https://bit.ly/NLIHCAwards2020