Contribute in Honor of Representative Maxine Waters and Other NLIHC 2021 Housing Leadership Award Recipients

Make a contribution to NLIHC in honor of 2021 Housing Leadership Award Honoree Representative Maxine Waters (D-CA), chair of the House Financial Services Committee. Chair Waters will receive a 2021 Edward W. Brooke Housing Leadership Award for her indispensable leadership fighting for equity and justice, combatting racism, championing the housing needs of the lowest-income people, and achieving critical housing and homelessness resources and protections during the 2020 pandemic. This award is named for Senator Edward Brooke (R-MA), who championed low-income housing as a U.S. senator and later as chair of the NLIHC board of directors. Donate to NLIHC in Chair Waters’ honor as an individual or as an organization.  


Rep. Maxine Waters

The other honorees in 2021 are Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH), chair of the Senate Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs Committee, who will also be bestowed an Edward Brooke W. Housing Leader Award; Joy Johnson, long-time resident leader of the Charlottesville Public Housing Association of Residents (PHAR) and former NLIHC board member, who will receive the Cushing Dolbeare Lifetime Service Award; and the Housing Justice Network of the National Housing Law Project, which will receive the Sheila Crowley Housing Justice Award. These exceptional leaders will be recognized at NLIHC’s 39th Annual Housing Leadership Awards Celebration held virtually on Wednesday April 28, 4-5 pm ET. Register to attend the event at:

Recognize these outstanding leaders by making a donation to NLIHC in their honor! 

Donate as an individual at:

Donate as an organization at:

Or text LEADERSHIP to 41444 to donate in honor of the awardees.

Your donation will be recognized in the Leadership Awards Celebration program. The contribution will support NLIHC’s mission to achieve socially just public policy to ensure the lowest-income people have decent, affordable homes. 

Register to attend the April 28 Housing Leadership Awards Celebration at: