Honor Resident Leader Joy Johnson and other NLIHC 2021 Housing Leadership Award Recipients

Make a contribution to NLIHC in honor of 2021 Housing Leadership Award Honoree and long-time resident leader Joy Johnson. The founder and board chair of the Charlottesville Public Housing Association of Residents (PHAR) and former NLIHC board member, Joy Johnson will receive the Cushing Dolbeare Lifetime Service Award for serving her community and the nation for decades as a public housing advocate, organizer, and activist-leader, improving the lives of low-income residents in Charlottesville, VA, and across the U.S. This award is named after NLIHC’s late founder, Cushing Dolbeare, a pioneer of the affordable housing movement. Donate to NLIHC in Joy’s honor as an individual or as an organization. Register to attend the Virtual Housing Leadership Awards Celebration on April 28, 4-5 pm ET, free to the public, at: https://bit.ly/3quNxWb

Joy Johnson

Joy Johnson

The other honorees in 2021 are Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH), chair of the Senate Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs Committee, who will be bestowed an Edward Brooke W. Housing Leader Award; Representative Maxine Waters (D-CA), chair of the House Financial Services Committee, who will also receive a Brooke Award; and the Housing Justice Network of the National Housing Law Project, which will receive the Sheila Crowley Housing Justice Award.

Recognize these outstanding leaders by making a donation to NLIHC in their honor! 

Donate as an individual at: https://bit.ly/2Kd9oRZ

Donate as an organization at: https://bit.ly/2LpBbzv

Or text LEADERSHIP to 41444 to donate in honor of the awardees.

Your donation will be recognized in the Leadership Awards Celebration program. The contribution will support NLIHC’s mission to achieve socially just public policy to ensure the lowest-income people have decent, affordable homes. 

Register to attend the April 28 Housing Leadership Awards Celebration at: https://bit.ly/3quNxWb