House and Senate Members Circulate “Dear Colleague” Letters to Support HUD and USDA Funding

Capitol BuildingMembers of Congress are circulating “Dear Colleague” sign-on letters in support of HUD and USDA Rural Housing to the chairs and ranking members of the Appropriations Subcommittees. These letters express support from members of Congress for particular programs and, in many cases, request specific programmatic funding levels for FY18 appropriations.

Tenant-Based Rental Assistance

Representative Jerrold Nadler (D-NY) is circulating a letter asking the House Appropriations Transportation-HUD (THUD) Subcommittee to provide $21.2 billion in FY18 to fund the tenant-based Section 8 rental assistance program, also known as Housing Choice Vouchers. This request includes $19.3 billion to renew all vouchers that families currently use. The deadline to sign is March 30. Members can contact Melissa Connolly at melissa.connolly@mail.house.gov to sign the letter.

McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Grants

Representative Gwen Moore (D-WI) is circulating a letter asking the House Appropriations THUD Subcommittee to provide $2.6 billion for McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Grants in FY18. The deadline to sign is March 29. Members can contact Talia Rosen at talia.rosen@mail.house.gov to sign the letter.

HOME Investment Partnerships Program (HOME)

Representative Marcia Fudge (D-OH) is circulating a letter supporting $1.2 billion for the HOME program in FY18. The deadline to sign is March 31. Members can contact Félix Muñiz at felix.muniz@mail.house.gov to sign the letter.

Community Development Block Grant Program (CDBG)

Representatives James McGovern (D-MA), Robert Brady (D-PA), Lou Barletta (R-PA), Peter King (R-NY), Maxine Waters (D-CA), and Gregory Meeks (D-NY) are circulating a letter in support of $3.3 billion for the CDBG program in FY18. Members can contact Caitlin Hodgkins at caitlin.hodgkins@mail.house.gov to sign the letter.

Housing Opportunities for Persons with AIDS (HOPWA)

Representatives Jerrod Nadler (D-NY), Joseph Crowley (D-NY), and Pramila Jayapal (D-WA) are circulating a letter in support of $350 million for HOPWA in FY18. The deadline to sign is March 30. Members can contact Melissa Connolly at Melissa.connolly@mail.house.gov  or Todd Sloves at todd.sloves@mail.house.gov to sign the letter.

Housing Counseling

Representative John Conyers (D-MI) is circulating a letter supporting $60 million for HUD’s Housing Counseling program in FY18. The deadline to sign is March 29. Members can contact Yvesner Zamar at yvesner.zamar@mail.house.gov to sign the letter.

Rural Housing

Representatives Sean Duffy (R-WI) and Jim Costa (D-CA) are circulating a letter in support of USDA’s Rural Housing Section 502 Direct Loan and Section 523 Mutual Self-Help Housing programs. The deadline for Members to sign the letter is April 3. Members can contact Ryan McCormack at ryan.mccormakc@mail.house.gov or Ben Goldeen at ben.goldeen@mail.house.gov to sign the letter.

View the House Section 8 letter at: http://bit.ly/2nhjFyl

View the House Homeless Assistance letter at: http://bit.ly/2mVdJaX

View the House HOME letter at: http://bit.ly/2nhrLXG

View the House CDBG letter at: http://bit.ly/2o9PNRU

View the House HOPWA letter at: http://bit.ly/2mwOekY

View the House Housing Counseling letter at: http://bit.ly/2nsxjPx

View the House Rural Housing letter at: http://bit.ly/21KYaFD