Leadership Reception

March 26, 2020 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Washington Court Hotel
Washington, DC , District of Columbia 20001


NLIHC’s Housing Policy Forum Cancelled

With coronavirus spreading in the United States, and with the health and safety of all attendees, their families, and their communities as our top priority, we are regretfully cancelling the Housing Policy Forum and Capitol Hill Day and postponing the Housing Leadership Awards Reception. We will refund you 100% of your registration fee and will process your refunds soon.

Visit this link for more information: https://mailchi.mp/nlihc.org/forum_031120-1

2020 Housing Leadership Awards Reception

The Housing Leadership Awards Reception held each year in conjunction with our annual Housing Policy Forum, is NLIHC’s only fundraising event. The awards are: the Cushing Niles Dolbeare Lifetime Service Award, the Edward W. Brooke Housing Leadership Award, and the Sheila Crowley Housing Justice Award.

Learn More

Make a contribution to NLHC today in recognition of  2020 Housing Leadership Award Honorees Jennifer Leimaile Ho, Bill Faith and Shauna Sorrells. These exceptional leaders will be recognized at the 38th Annual Housing Leadership Awards Reception on March 26, 2020 at the Washington Court Hotel in Washington, DC.  Register to attend here.

The first award is named for Senator Edward Brooke (R-MA), who championed low-income housing as a U.S. senator and later as chair of the NLIHC board of directors. Shauna Sorrells will receive the 2020 Edward W. Brooke Housing Leadership Award posthumously for her unwavering commitment to ending homelessness and housing poverty in the U.S. over many years at HUD, at the Housing Opportunities Commission of Montgomery County, and on the NLIHC Board of Directors. 


Shawna Sorrells

The Dolbeare Lifetime Service Award, named for NLIHC’s founder Cushing Niles Dolbeare, who has been called the “godmother” of the affordable housing movement, will be bestowed to Bill Faith for his many years of leadership, dedication and tireless work to secure decent, safe, and affordable homes for the lowest-income people in Ohio and across the U.S.  Bill is the executive director of the Coalition on Homelessness and Housing in Ohio and former NLIHC board chair.   

bill faith

Bill Faith

The Sheila Crowley Housing Justice Award is named after former NLIHC President and CEO Sheila Crowley, who led NLIHC for more than 17 years. Jennifer Ho, commissioner of Minnesota Housing and former senior advisor at HUD and deputy director of the U.S. Interagency Council on Homelessness (USICH), will receive the Crowley Award for her outstanding work to end homelessness and housing poverty in the U.S. since 1999 at Hearth Connection, USICH, HUD, Minnesota Housing, and beyond. 

Jennifer ho

Jennifer Ho

Recognize these outstanding individuals by making a donation to NLIHC in their honor! 

Donate as an individual at: https://bit.ly/34ng1FP

Donate as an organization at: https://bit.ly/2WyFnOb

Your donation will be recognized in the Leadership Awards Reception program. The contribution will support NLIHC’s mission to achieve socially just public policy to ensure the lowest-income people have decent, affordable homes. 

The 2020 Leadership Awards Reception will be held on the second evening of NLIHC’s 2020 Housing Policy Forum: Ending Homelessness & Housing Poverty taking place March 25-27, 2020. Register for the Forum at: https://bit.ly/2PutSGn and/or Leadership Awards Reception at: https://bit.ly/362lyDf

Attached Files