Appropriations Chairman Frelinghuysen to Retire after Term Ends

Representative Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ), chair of the House Appropriations Committee, announced on January 29 that he will not seek reelection. Mr. Frelinghuysen served twelve terms in the House of Representatives but only one full year leading the Appropriations Committee, which controls federal spending.

Whichever party controls the House following the 2018 elections will choose a new chair of the Appropriations Committee. Republican Representatives Robert Alderholt (R-AL), Kay Granger (R-TX), and Tom Cole (R-OK) have already indicated they would seek the position. If Democrats were to take control, the position would likely go to Nita Lowey (D-NY), the current ranking member.

Read Representative Frelinghuysen’s statement at: