House Financial Services Committee Releases Bills to Be Considered during April 17 Markup Session

U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Financial Services (HFSC) Chair Patrick McHenry (R-NC) released a list of bills to be considered during an April 17 committee markup. The list includes the “Respect State Housing Laws Act” (H.R.802), which NLIHC opposes.

Introduced by Representative Barry Loudermilk (R-GA), this harmful bill would eliminate the 30-day eviction notice requirement established in the bipartisan “Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act of 2020.” Under current law, landlords and owners of federally assisted properties are required to provide a notice of at least 30 days to a tenant facing eviction before removing the tenant from the property. The federal requirement gives households additional time to address outstanding issues and avoid eviction or – if eviction is unavoidable – time to find a new place to live. Without sufficient notice, tenants often struggle to find a new home, increasing their risk of homelessness and further housing instability post-eviction.

During markup, members of the Committee meet to debate and consider amendments to a piece of proposed legislation and determine whether the bill should be considered by the full House.

Take Action: Urge Your Members to Oppose the “Respect State Housing Laws Act”

Markup will be limited to members of the House Financial Services Committee. If your member of Congress serves on the HFSC, urge them to oppose the “Respect State Housing Laws Act” if it is considered during the April 17 markup.

Members of the HFSC include:

  • Chair Patrick McHenry (R-NC)
  • Pete Sessions (R-TX)
  • Bill Posey (R-FL)
  • Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO)
  • Bill Huizenga (R-MI)
  • Ann Wagner (R-MO)
  • Andy Barr (R-KY)
  • Roger Williams (R-TX)
  • French Hill (R-AR)
  • Tom Emmer (R-MN)
  • Barry Loudermilk (R-GA)
  • Alexander Mooney (R-WV)
  • Warren Davidson (R-OH)
  • John Rose (R-TN)
  • Bryan Steil (R-WI)
  • William Timmons (R-SC)
  • Ralph Norman (R-SC)
  • Dan Meuser (R-PA)
  • Scott Fitzgerald (R-WI)
  • Andrew Garbarino (R-NY)
  • Young Kim (R-CA)
  • Byron Donalds (R-FL)
  • Mike Flood (R-NE)
  • Mike Lawler (R-NY)
  • Zach Nunn (R-IA)
  • Ranking Member Maxine Waters (D-CA) 
  • Nydia Velazquez (D-NY)
  • Brad Sherman (D-CA)
  • Gregory Meeks (D-NY)
  • David Scott (D-GA)
  • Stephen Lynch (D-MA)
  • Al Green (D-TX)
  • Emanuel Cleaver (D-MO)
  • Jim Himes (D-CT)
  • Bill Foster (D-IL)
  • Joyce Beatty (D-OH)
  • Juan Vargas (D-CA)
  • Josh Gottheimer (D-NJ)
  • Vincente Gonzalez (D-TX)
  • Sean Casten (D-IL)
  • Ayanna Pressley (D-MA)
  • Steven Horsford (D-NV)
  • Rashida Tlaib (D-MI)
  • Ritchie Torres (D-NY)
  • Sylvia Garcia (D-TX)
  • Nikema Williams (D-GA)
  • Wiley Nickle (D-NC)
  • Brittany Pettersen (D-CO)

Look up your member of Congress using NLIHC’s Take Action Center here.

Learn more about the markup here.