Last Chance to Register for April 28 Housing Leadership Awards Celebration!

Join us this Wednesday (April 28) to celebrate the contributions of Representative Maxine Waters (D-CA), chair of the House Financial Services Committee; Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH), chair of the Senate Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs Committee; Joy Johnson, long-time resident leader of the Charlottesville Public Housing Association of Residents (PHAR) and former NLIHC board member; and the Housing Justice Network of the National Housing Law Project. These leaders will be honored at NLIHC’s 2021 Housing Leadership Awards Celebration to be held virtually, free to the public, on Wednesday, April 28 from 4-5 pm ET. Learn more and register at:


Rep. Maxine Waters

A 2021 Edward W. Brooke Housing Leadership Award will be presented to Representative Maxine Waters for her indispensable leadership fighting for equity and justice, combatting racism, championing the housing needs of the lowest-income people, and achieving critical housing and homelessness resources and protections during the pandemic. This award is named for Senator Edward Brooke (R-MA), who championed low-income housing as a U.S. senator and later as chair of the NLIHC board of directors. 


Sen. Sherrod Brown

Senator Sherrod Brown will also receive a 2021 Edward W. Brooke Housing Leadership Award for his many years of fighting for racial and social justice, voting rights, and affordable housing, and for his exceptional leadership in Congress to address to the housing and homelessness crisis during the coronavirus pandemic.

Joy Johnson

Joy Johnson

The Dolbeare Lifetime Service Award, named for NLIHC’s founder Cushing Niles Dolbeare, a pioneer of the affordable housing movement, will be awarded to Joy Johnson for serving her community and the nation for decades as a public housing advocate, organizer, and activist-leader, improving the lives of low-income residents in Charlottesville and across the United States.     

Housing Justice network

The National Housing Law Project’s Housing Justice Network will receive the Sheila Crowley Housing Justice Award for the Network’s outstanding efforts for over forty years serving on the front lines to advance housing rights and over past year to keep families safely housed during the pandemic. This award is named after former NLIHC President and CEO Sheila Crowley, who led NLIHC for more than 17 years. 

Recognize these outstanding leaders by making a donation to NLIHC in their honor at:

Or text LEADERSHIP to 41444.

Your donation will be recognized in the Leadership Awards Celebration program. The contribution will support NLIHC’s mission to achieve socially just public policy to ensure the lowest-income people have decent, accessible, and affordable homes. 

Register to attend the free event at: