New Democrat Coalition Affordable Housing Task Force Unveils Housing Action Plan

The New Democrat Coalition’s Affordable Housing Task Force, led by Chair Norma J. Torres (D-CA) and Vice Chairs Greg Landsman (D-OH), Wiley Nickel (D-NC), and Emilia Sykes (D-OH), released a comprehensive Housing Action Plan on March 20. One of the largest Democrat caucuses in the U.S. House of Representatives, the New Democrat Coalition comprises nearly 100 Democrats who are committed to pro-innovation and pro-growth policies and bipartisan approaches to policymaking.

The NLIHC-endorsed Housing Action Plan supports universal rental assistance for all eligible households and bolsters the national Housing Trust Fund – two major priorities of NLIHC’s HoUSed campaign. Additionally, the plan supports ongoing funding for emergency rental assistance and reforms to the Low-Income Housing Tax Credit (LIHTC) program to better serve extremely low-income, tribal, and rural households.

The New Democrat Coalition Housing Action Plan includes more than 20 policy recommendations to address five key components of affordable housing: housing supply, permitting and zoning laws, federal financial incentives, the construction workforce, and data collection and transparency. The Housing Action Plan highlights actions that the Biden administration and Congress have already taken to address the affordable housing crisis and outlines additional steps that must be taken to ensure everyone has access to safe, decent, affordable housing.

Read the press release at:

Read the Housing Action Plan at:

Read a summary of the Housing Action Plan at: